Right livelihood – Buddhist Perspective

This means that practitioners ought not to engage in trades or occupations which, either directly or indirectly, result in harm for other living beings.
what is right livelihood?
The five types of businesses that should not be undertaken..

1.Business in WEAPONS: trading in all kinds of weapons and instruments for killing.

2.Business in BEINGS: Animals,slave trading, forced prostitution, or the buying and selling of children or adults.

3.Business in MEAT: “meat” refers to the bodies of beings after they are killed. This includes breeding animals for slaughter.

4.Business in INTOXICANTS: manufacturing or selling intoxicating drinks or addictive drugs.

5.Business in POISON: producing or trading in any kind of poison or a toxic product designed to kill.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s