Peace Is Accepting This Moment.

Inner peace in mind
Inner peace in mind

From childhood, we are taught to be planners, to think ahead, and to foresee how our future will look. Many of us look at life like an equation. If I do this, this, and this, it will equal to a desired outcome. In theory of ideal life, this all is completely rational, but in real life, we know that this is not how life works, and I promise you, that’s for the best.

I used to be a person who always wanted to know how things were going to unfold. I’ve always wanted to know all the answers. Even though it’s wonderful to be informed and in the known, some of the most stressful situations of my life have stemmed from desiring to know it all, and not surrendering to what it is. There may be many uncertainties in life but there are also infinite possibilities. It is impossible for us to know how our days will come and go, and I think it’s better this way. The truth is, if we “knew it all” life would be so much less interesting. When we have a tight grip on how we think our lives should look, we block out the guidance of the really magical lives that are waiting for us.

“We can never obtain peace in the outer world until we make peace with ourselves.” ~Dalai Lama

I stopped controlling things and I focused on finding what fits me best. I let go of the need to lose weight by a certain date, or even that I had to reach a certain number on the scale. My dream was to be fit and healthy. And as all of this was happening I began to discover things, like music and cooking, that brought joy to my being.

I started to remember things in my life that once made my heart smile, but I thought I had lost forever under the rubble of self-loathing, like writing. I didn’t know if I’d ever reach my dreams. I didn’t know when they’d arrive. I didn’t know who I was going to meet, or where I’d be led. I stopped trying to figure out, define, or plan every step on the journey to making my life, or my dreams, happen.

I learned to enjoy my life for what it was in that moment. I found peace in who I was, and where I was, without even knowing that’s what I had been searching for all along. I couldn’t have imagined or planned for the path I took to today—yet here I am. And even as I live my dreams today, I’ve found new ones have emerged.

Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it – Unknown

These last few years I faced, and I still do today, unexpected challenges, fears, and insecurities. I’ve stumbled. I’ve doubted. I’ve questioned. But I’ve kept walking. Because through it all I’ve come to accept that everything is a process—my body, my writing, my relationships, my being. I’m the masterpiece of my life, and I’ll never be finished.

I refine, I hone, and then I release what I create, only to start again and again and again.

Find Peace by Enjoying Where You Are

You should believe that you are the masterpiece of your life. And if today, you find yourself disliking what you’ve created so far, that’s okay. Because that’s how it all starts. You can’t change something if you don’t know you want it to be different. So wherever you are in life, right now, close your eyes. Breathe deeply. Remember, you’re alive. This moment, it’s just that. A moment. It won’t last forever. Now imagine taking one tiny step forward. Just one thing you’ve been thinking about doing, that you’re heart has pleaded you to do but that you keep talking yourself out of it.

It doesn’t matter what that thing is- chat with an old friend. Go to the gym. Walk outside. Apply for that job you really want. Get up at 5 AM to watch the sunrise. Play the piano. Just take one step today.

And then take another small one tomorrow. Let go of having to know what the end result will be. You set something in motion, that’s more than enough. Let go of having to know all the steps you need to take to make your dreams come true. You know your direction, that’s more than enough.

Trust that your life always turns out exactly as it needs to—even if you look around right now and say “you’re kidding, right?” Because you are exactly who you need to be today in order to become the person you will be tomorrow.

Today you are worthy. Today you are deserving. Today you are loved. Just as you were yesterday, just as you will be tomorrow.  So live from your heart. Be honest. Be open. Be inspired. Keep doing what you love. Keep learning.Keep living one day at a time, so that when you reach the twilight of your life, just like my grandmother, you will wish to do it all over again. Learn to let go a little bit, not to think so much about how things will unfold, and to just believe that life flows so effortlessly when you release the grip.

Life is a Journey; Enjoy the Ride – Unknown

few easy starter tips to find peace in this moment below:

  1. Live in the present moment.

Instead of worrying about what is going to happen in the next 5 minutes, days, months or years, become totally consumed in what is happening in the now. One of my favorite quotes comes to mind that perfectly encapsulates this: “Be so busy loving your life that you have no time for hate, regret, or fear.”

  1. Do your best at any given moment.

When you are present and doing the best you can with what you are given, you can have faith that everything will work out as it should. Even setbacks or challenging situations have their purposes, in bringing forth the lessons we need to propel us forward, teaching us tools to carry through life.

  1. Follow the signs and follow what brings you joy.

It’s bliss to listen to your inner guidance system, and following the true joys in life. When it comes to big decisions where I feel like I need to know it all, I used to toil, make lists, and make myself crazy. Now I go by how I feel, what makes me feel most joyful, and what makes me feel most alive. It has made all the difference. As Gabby Bernstein always says, “Lean towards joy, and you will be led.”

  1. Surrender.

Have faith that life is unfolding exactly as it should. Sometimes we think we have to control everything for our lives to be perfect. We are always thinking that we know what’s best for ourselves in any given moment, but like I said earlier in this blog, there are infinite possibilities in this world that our brains cannot even possibly imagine. Let go of what you think life should look like, and allow yourself to be guided by the Universe.

Inner Peace -Accepting This Moment
Inner Peace -Accepting This Moment

“Serenity comes when you trade expectations for acceptance.” ~Unknown

Accepting this moment as it is without worrying about future or thinking about past leads to a peaceful mind.

Leave a Reply

